You cannot open a book without learning something.



« Back to News

Winner of the 2012 McLaverty Award Announced

29 November 2012



The 2012 Michael McLaverty Short Story Award, administered by the Linen Hall Library, has been won by Mandy Taggart from Coleraine. Mandy received a cheque for £2,000 and her work, entitled Ways of the North, has been published by the Linen Hall Library. 

The two runners up are Gareth Osborne, from Belfast, and Annemarie Neary with their respective works Plato on the Shore, about the pain of losing a loved one, and Birthday Outing, which explores the myriad of emotions felt by all parties involved in an adulterous affair. Their stories are published by the Library in a limited-edition anthology on sale in the Library for £5. 

Taggart’s Ways of the North is a poignant comment on childhood in the turbulent political climate of Northern Ireland. On being announced as the winner, she said: “This is an honour and an absolute delight. The award is an encouragement for new writers. This is the first time I have ever been placed in something like this. 

“What has helped give me time to focus on my writing is the support from the Arts Council of Northern Ireland via their Support for the Individual Artist Programme.” 

John Killen, Linen Hall Librarian said: “There were 113 entries for the 2012 Michael McLaverty Short Story Award. Mandy Taggart’s entry was the runaway favourite. As the Library moves into its 225th year in 2013, we hope to continue supporting and promoting new writing talent for the next 225 years.” 

The competition was adjudicated by two highly esteemed literary figures, Anne Tannahill, freelance editor and former MD of Blackstaff press, and Irish novelist Jennifer Johnston. 

The Michael McLaverty Short Story Award is named after one of Ireland’s foremost exponents of the short story. His extensive archive was presented to the Linen Hall Library in 2005. 

Ways of the North will be available to purchase exclusively at the Linen Hall Library for £5.00. 

For more information about the Michael McLaverty Short Story Award, please visit the Linen Hall Library website

Notes to editors: 
For more information about the Michael McLaverty Short Story Award or the Linen Hall Library 
please contact Rachel Wetherall, Marketing and PR Officer, or John Killen, Librarian 
of the Linen Hall Library, on 028 9032 1707 or on email at